Tánaiste Visits Rush School

St Josephs school RushPictured with the International School of Distinction flag 2017, which was presented to St Joseph's Secondary School Rush are Senator James Reilly; Niall Gosson; Tanaiste Simon Coveney; acting County Mayor Cllr David O'Connor and school principal Patricia Hayden. The flag is the international shool of distinction award and it is presented for outstanding performance of a school across all aspects of the schools business from the academic side of things to the day to day running of the school and it's achievements to helping the students lives in school and helping them with their future

Tánaiste Simon Coveney paid a visit to St Joseph’s Secondary School, Rush just before the Christmas holidays.

He spoke with the 6th year business and economics class and the 5th and 6th year politics classes.

Cllr. David O Connor filled in as acting Mayor and he opened the proceedings with a speech about the school and its achievements and then two students, Hope Halpin and Cíaran Barry spoke briefly on Brexit. The Tánaiste then spoke about Brexit, his work and also answered a number of questions from some of the students. He presented the Leadership team with their badges, Scott Doyle (Head Boy), Katie Kavanagh (Head Girl), Amy Mathews (Deputy Head Girl) and Ciarán McKeown (Deputy Head Boy).

The Tánaiste also presented Chairperson of the Board of Management, Senator James Reilly with the international school of distinction award from an NGO in America called College for every student, which makes it the school’s fourth consecutive year in a row to be awarded this honour.

The students then presented him with three small gifts for his children and also a hand crafted pen and box made by Lindsey Balfe with his name on it.